Visual Studio.NET Source Control Settings

Setting up VS.Net integration with Code Co-op

Binding

If you already have a Code Co-op project that is also a Visual Studio solution and you want to tell Visual Studio to use Code Co-op to check files out for you, follow these instructions. In Visual Studio:

Binding a project

Check Out

By default, at this point, VS will ask you if you want to check out your .sln and .vcproj files. You don't want VS to be asking you these questions again, so check the "Don't show Check Out ..." checkbox at the lower left corner and select "Check Out".

Check-out Options

Allow Replacement

Then VS will ask you if you want to protect your files from the source control overwriting them. Select "Allow these files to be replaced...". The alternative option makes sense only for server-based source-control systems.

Overwriting option

At this point, VS will check out and modify your .sln and .vcproj files. Open the Code Co-op project and check those files in.

Options

The major advantage of integration is that VS will be able to check files out as soon as you start editing them. To make your work flow smooth, you probably don't want VS to keep asking you whether you want to check a file out every time.

To set this up go to Tools > Options in VS and do the following:

VS Options

Visual Studio will initially keep asking various questions, which usually have the "Don't show this again..." checkboxes. For instance:


Adding existing Item

To add an existing item to the project do the following:

Adding items to project

Deleting a File

Right-click on a file in the Solution Explorer and selects Exclude From Project command from the context menu.
Recommended action: the dialog is self-explanatory

Deleting a file

Removing or Deleting Files from VS Project

Select a file in the Solution Explorer and press Delete button or rRight-click on a file in the Solution Exploror and select Remove command from the context menu.
Recommended action: Doesn't matter. In both cases the file is removed from Code Co-op project.

Remove Delete FIles

Unloading Project

This happens usually when the project file has changed outside of VS and the project is reloaded. The user should check the checkbox and select Continue.

Unloading a Project